Embargo: For immediate release (28 July 2008)

PRESS STATEMENT BY VUYO MLOKOTI: CHAIRPERSON OF THE MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD (MDB): REDETERMINATION OF MUNICIPAL BOUNDARIES

The Demarcation Act, 1998 allows the Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB) to determine and re-determine municipal boundaries.

On 24 July 2008, the Board took final decisions with respect to the current determination and re-determination of municipal boundaries. Once the Board has confirmed its re-determinations, it publishes legal notices in terms of section 21(5) of the Demarcation Act to confirm its decisions, where after the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) and MECs, for Local Government will, where necessary, issue legal notices in terms of section 23 of the same Act, to determine the date on which the Board's determinations and re-determinations will take effect. The publication of the different notices is at various stages, and it is most likely that the IEC will declare that the re-determinations become effective at the date of the next Local Government elections, in 2011, given their significance.

All of the above processes must happen before the end of August 2008, as the Board must hand over the municipal boundaries to the IEC, for them to prepare for the 2009 National and Provincial elections, as well as the 2011 Local Government elections.

In all cases, if the section 23 notices are not published by August 2008, the affected re-determinations will not be included in the final municipal boundary maps to be handed to the IEC in August, for the 2009 and 2011 elections.

Once the boundaries have been handed over to the IEC, no municipal boundaries will be re-determined until after the 2011 Local Government elections.

Some of the more significant consequences of the Board's recent re-determinations are as follows:

- 1. The three secondary cities of Msunduzi (KZN), Mangaung (FS) and Buffalo City (EC) will become metropolitan municipalities (category A municipalities) with their current boundaries, joining the ranks of the existing six in the country.
- 2. The <u>Metsweding</u> District Municipality and its two local municipalities of <u>Kungwini</u> and <u>Nokeng tsa Taemane</u> will be <u>disestablished</u>, and the area <u>will be incorporated into the metropolitan areas of Tshwane and Ekurhuleni</u>.
- 3. The two local municipalities of Ntabankulu and Mbizana, currently within the OR Tambo District Municipality in the Eastern Cape, will now become part of the Alfred Nzo District Municipality, also in the Eastern Cape.
- 4. A number of requests to establish new municipalities were rejected by the Board. The Board does not believe that creating new municipalities will enhance service delivery in any way.

ENQUIRIES: HILLARY MONARE CEO: MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD E-MAIL: hillary@demarcation.org.za FAX: 012-3422480 TEL: 012-3422481